CS:GO Lag/Stutter Stepping/Rubber Banding/Chop... ETC

Thread started by Mwave.ChrisD on Wednesday, 10:37am May 8th with 11 replies. Views: 8,164

Mwave.ChrisD
Posts: 1,046
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:
Hey Guys,

Last few days I've personally been experiencing stutter stepping and it seems like I'm not the only one. Since the last update of CS:GO which changed a few server values it has just made it to annoying to play.

Visual Example: http://youtu.be/TFIeXvnZ4rA (Not Me)

Forum Posts: http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3116993
http://steamcommunity.com/app/730/discussions/0/828937979061766333/
http://it.reddit.com/r/GlobalOffensive/comments/1dpnw6/potential_solution_to_rubberbanding/
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3117269

Is the problem truely sv_maxusrcmdprocessticks? as some users are saying.

I get 250-300 FPS stable, In-Game ping between <50ms depending on server and my internet speed test below. (Playing OFFLINE is absolutely perfect).
I've used default user config rates and also 128/128/128000 - interp_ratio 1 and interp 0 (which made it worse)

So please dont say "oh update your drivers, restart pc, reformat, turn off anti virus, direct connect to modem etc etc".

I have tried most of them! :P

http://img855.imageshack.us/img855/7032/speedtestf.jpg

Chris
Posted 10:37am May 8th 13
kennedy 
Posts: 4,184
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:
Hey Chris, it's the exact same thing I was experiencing last night and have for the past few days.

It is Valves new compensation thing, it's absolutely horrid. At the moment we're pretty much waiting for a hotfix, I'm not entirely sure if that command works, we have it on our server and I haven't really experienced it since on our server.

It is nothing to do with your internet, Valve gives false positives so the compensation kicks in and thinks you're lagging when you're not.

I get it more often when my ping is stable, it doesn't seem to effect me when I have over 100 ping however.
Posted 10:41am May 8th 13
Mwave.ChrisD
Posts: 1,046
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:
Thanks for your feedback forest

I guess Valve compensation for higher ping gamers = FAIL!

Why do developers tweak things, that are not even broken in the first place. FIX THE DEAGALE
Posted 10:46am May 8th 13
Mwave.ChrisD
Posts: 1,046
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:
hehe thanks meNace, cannot wait to get access to the NBN in my area.

100/40mpbs* Time to play in overseas servers
Posted 11:00am May 8th 13
Lordo
Posts: 1,219
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:


hehe thanks meNace, cannot wait to get access to the NBN in my area.

100/40mpbs* Time to play in overseas servers :D

Quote from Mwave ' Chris_xpL on the 8th of May 2013

hate to be a negative nancy but the likelihood that your ability to play on overseas servers is pretty much 0

The upgrading of domestic infrastructure has no bearing on the overseas link(s) which are and for the forseeable future will remain garbage.
Posted 11:20am May 8th 13
Mwave.ChrisD
Posts: 1,046
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:
BROOOO DONT SAY THAT LOLLL!!!!
Posted 11:55am May 8th 13
inert1a
Posts: 756
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:
had it all day yesterday
Posted 1:19pm May 8th 13
eMJay
Posts: 204
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:



hehe thanks meNace, cannot wait to get access to the NBN in my area.

100/40mpbs* Time to play in overseas servers :D

Quote from LoRDo on the 8th of May 2013

hate to be a negative nancy but the likelihood that your ability to play on overseas servers is pretty much 0

The upgrading of domestic infrastructure has no bearing on the overseas link(s) which are and for the forseeable future will remain garbage.

Quote from Mwave ' Chris_xpL on the 8th of May 2013

Add to that, even if it was fiber all the way, your packets can only travel at the speed of light and it's still a long way to the US/EU etc.
Posted 3:16pm May 8th 13
Talnoy
Posts: 5,018
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:
DSL/Fiber your difference in ping to US servers is around 15 ms...150ms at best 180 more likely just means you make less local hops before getting onto an international link
Posted 5:03pm May 8th 13
apSlain
Posts: 134
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:
Here's an explanation of how the sv_maxusrcmdprocessticks affects your connection to the server. It looks like they have no plans to remove the command, but they are tweaking it to be a bit more lenient.

It's a long post, but the gist of it is that poor client network connections are to blame (according to Valve).
Posted 5:38pm May 8th 13
KingHydrix
Posts: 481
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:
Not sure if they have fixed it or not yet but I've been having the same problem as you before. At the moment my games are going fine with no problem, it might be coincidental or something but I've played 5 matches without having that annoying problem.
Posted 11:08pm May 8th 13
NmEE
Posts: 54
Level: BRONZE
Reputation:


FIX THE DEAGALE :)

Quote from Mwave ' Chris_xpL on the 8th of May 2013

They did recently,, you just tap the opposite direction of where your moving just as you shoot and its spot on. I used it on level 4 aim map while strafing a few weeks ago..
Posted 10:06am May 9th 13